Split movie review

Split Review (3.5/5)
By Kayla Martinez

split_ver2

This movie is one that I have been DYING to see since I first saw the trailer! First of all, this psychological thriller was directed by M. Night Shyamalan, who has directed many well-known films such as The Sixth Sense, so that in itself made me have high hopes for this movie. Also, things involving psychology are very intriguing to me, and the topic of personality disorders really drew me to this movie. I just find it so interesting and crazy how the human mind is capable of making itself believe that it embodies multiple different personalities.

Now, the movie itself was very interesting,  I have to give it that. A man named Kevin (James McAvoy) abducts three young girls: Casey, Claire, and Marcia (Anya Taylor-Joy, Haley Lu Richardson, Jessica Sula). He takes them to some unknown location and sticks them in a locked room with a bathroom. They later find out that he thinks himself to be multiple people.

They first meet Dennis, as he is the man that has abducted them.  Then comes Patricia, who just seems to be Dennis dressed as an older woman but embodies a whole different personality and way of speaking. And then they are introduced to Hedwig, which also seems to be Dennis dressed as a nine year old boy who also has a different personality and way of speaking.

640
amp.theguardian.com

Throughout their whole time there, Casey seems to be the one who, while also scared like the other two girls, seems to be more logical.  She uses Kevin’s personality disorder to her advantage and tries to get the other personalities to help her escape, mainly Hedwig.

I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to give the movie away, but I will say the movie was not AS good as I thought it’d be. Don’t get me wrong, it was good in that it was interesting, but I thought it’d be more suspenseful. While there was definitely some suspense, it wasn’t as intense as I hoped it would be.  I went with my friend and he said if there were more killing it would’ve been better, but I’m not sure that I completely agree with that.

The plot of the movie was crazy, like if you imagine yourself in that situation, you would be scared out of your mind. You just don’t know when one personality that seems to be harmless will turn into one that is very harmful.

However, the movie did have some funny moments in it, thanks to the Hedwig personality.  A very innocent and curious personality, although slightly unpredictable.

As for the actors/actresses, I think it was very well casted.  The actor that played Kevin/Dennis/Patricia/Hedwig, and the other 20 personalities, James McAvoy, was VERY good. To be able to switch from one character to the next, with different facial expressions, ways of talking, different fashion sense, etc. and be able to have the audience believe it is a completely different person, was very impressive to me.  He played the role very well and was very believable.

I thought they casted the girls well too. The main character, Casey, played by Anya Taylor-Joy, had the perfect skills for the part. I think she was great at playing the girl who was able to keep calm and think through each situation and personality.  I think the way she looks also made her character believable because she had that innocent look, but the way she dressed did make her seem like someone who would be the “outcast,” at least in the group of girls she was with, who were dressed more “feminine.”

The other two girls, Claire and Marcia, played by Haley Lu Richardson and Jessica Sula, were also great, but for different reasons.  They looked like normal girls you would see around school, as what they wore was current with what is trending now, so that in itself made their characters feel real.  But they were the characters who were more frantic and not so careful with what they did to try to escape, and I feel like you would have expected that from them, just judging by the personality of their characters.

a6ac379976d46b38_mcdspli_ec100_h
http://www.popsugar.com

All in all, I would give this movie a rating of 3.5 out of 5.  The reason for this is because it was not as intense and suspenseful as I thought it’d be, and that in itself was a let down (but that may have been my own fault for hyping it up myself.)  But it was very interesting to see how someone with a multiple personality disorder functions, and it was crazy to see that one person can embody SO many different “people” each with their own unique qualities and health issues. For example, one had diabetes and the other 23 did not have it, and one was very muscular and the others were not. I also found it fascinating how Casey would try to manipulate the different personalities to try to escape.

I’m not a psych major and haven’t looked into the disorder much myself so I don’t know how accurate this film is, but it seemed believable to me and that is what kept me intrigued.

maxresdefault-1
http://www.youtube.com
Leave a Reply

